The building housing the Jury Room was built in 1831 as an Inn/Tavern to accommodate visitors to the Courthouse (across the street), or business men coming to the Brewery District. There has been a continuously operating tavern since that time. Even during prohibition it operated as a speakeasy being attached to the rear building which was built in the 1860's (with a reported shady use for the pleasure of public officials).
The building was originally three stories until the turn of the twentieth century when a fire destroyed the third floor and extensively damaged the second floor. It is now two stories with a finished attic. The Jury Room boasts a tin ceiling that was installed after the fire and an original beer hall sign hangs from a beam inside with a replica outside. The top portion of the back bar was built in the 1860's and the lower part is from the 1920's. There is an article, written in the May 6, 1979 Columbus Dispatch, hanging on the wall. It shows the building in 1870 as a three story, housing the F.J. Gaiser Saloon and Boarding house. The kitchen was originally upstairs.
During the Civil War it housed Union Officers in charge of a nearby Confederate prison camp.
During Columbus Landmarks ghost tour photos were taken that confirm the Jury Room does have spirits residing here. They seem to be most prevalent whenever they are disturbed by crowds or remodeling construction.
Best Known For...
Cheese steaks - Best in town. Our burgers are our most popular item. Hungry Jury specialty drink.
Reviews and Awards
The "Other Paper" rated the Jury Room as "worth the trip". We are a neighborhood joint that happens to have the courthouse and downtown as the neighborhood. We are popular with downtown hotel guests